Holding

Written by Jade Hayek

I held your heart, like it was all I had, showering it everyday, with words, filling the voids, growing homes, spaces, so you would feel safe, so you could hear each beat of your existence, and feel how deeply you are loved. I held your heart with energy, warming it with the blood coursing through my veins, allowing each drop to strengthen it with freedom, for I loved your heart enough to let it go. And each moment I kept hold of your heart, glimpses of your mouth, your voice, your hair, consumed the beats of mine. So I hunted for the liquid measure of your steps, the beats of your heart led me to you, and there I found you, prowling through the streets, holding my heart too.

Drawing by Celeste Hayek

Leave a Reply

